Rolling Stones Announce Multi-Format ‘Honk’ Retrospective

The 36-track album features hits and key tracks from every studio album by the Stones from 1971 to date.

Published on

Rolling Stones 2019 CREDIT Kevin Westenberg
Photo: Kevin Westenberg

A brand new best-of compilation by The Rolling Stones, Honk, has been announced for release by Polydor on 19 April. The multi-format collection gathers together the legendary group’s biggest hits and best-loved album tracks from each Rolling Stones studio album from 1971’s Sticky Fingers to their most recent, 2016’s Blue & Lonesome.

To be available in 2CD, 3CD and 3LP vinyl versions as well as digitally, Honk features 36 esssential tracks by the Stones over this 45-year period. It includes eight top ten singles in ‘Brown Sugar,’ ‘Tumbling Dice,’ ‘Angie,’ ‘It’s Only Rock And Roll (But I Like It),’ ‘Fool To Cry,’ ‘Miss You,’ ‘Emotional Rescue’ and ‘Start Me Up.’ Other key tracks include ‘Rocks Off,’ ‘Beast Of Burden,’ ‘Waiting On A Friend,’ ‘Undercover (Of The Night)’ and ‘Mixed Emotions.’

The 3CD edition includes a unique version of ‘Wild Horses,’ unveiled today, on which Mick Jagger duets with Florence Welch of Florence + the Machine. The retrospective brings the Stones’ story up to date with the 2012 single ‘Doom & Gloom’ and three tracks from the Grammy-winning and chart-topping Blue & Lonesome, ‘Just Your Fool,’ ‘Ride ‘Em Down’ and ‘Hate To See You Go.’

The deluxe 3CD edition of the album will be of huge interest to Stones fans and collectors, as it contains ten live tracks recorded around the world during the band’s sellout 50 And Counting, Zip Code and No Filter tours of recent years. In addition to ‘Wild Horses,’ these include ‘Dead Flowers,’ featuring US country star Brad Paisley, recorded in Philadelphia in June 2013; ‘Bitch,’ with Foo Fighters’ Dave Grohl, also captured during the 50 And Counting tour; and ‘Beast Of Burden,’ featuring Ed Sheeran. Further, the inclusion of ‘Dancing With Mr. D.’ recorded in Arnheim in 2017, marks the return of the Goat’s Head Soup opener to the band’s set lists for the first time in 44 years.

A deluxe 4xLP coloured vinyl set will also be available as a special fan edition, containing the 36 studio tracks and the ten bonus live tracks. The heavyweight vinyl set will be housed in a special slip box. There will be two digital editions, one with the standard 36-song tracklisting and the other comprising the deluxe version, adding the live tracks.

Honk is released on 19 April. Scroll down for the full tracklisting, and pre-order it here.


Disc 1
‘Start Me Up’
‘Brown Sugar’
‘Rocks Off’
‘Miss You’
‘Tumbling Dice’
‘Just Your Fool’
‘Wild Horses’
‘Fool To Cry’
‘Beast Of Burden’
‘Hot Stuff’
‘It’s Only Rock’n’Roll (But I Like It)’
‘Rock And A Hard Place’
‘Doom And Gloom’
‘Love Is Strong’
‘Mixed Emotions’
‘Don’t Stop’
‘Ride ‘Em On Down’

Disc 2
‘Harlem Shuffle’
‘Hate To See You Go’
‘Rough Justice’
‘Doo Doo Doo Doo Doo (Heartbreaker)’
‘One More Shot’
‘You Got Me Rocking’
‘Rain Fall Down’
‘Dancing With Mr D’
‘Undercover (Of The Night)’
‘Emotional Rescue’
‘Waiting On A Friend’
‘Saint Of Me’
‘Out Of Control’
‘Streets Of Love’
‘Out Of Tears’

Disc 3: Live Tracks
‘Get Off My Cloud’
‘Dancing With Mr D’
‘Beast Of Burden’ (with Ed Sheeran)
‘She’s A Rainbow’
‘Wild Horses’ (with Florence Welch)
‘Let’s Spend The Night Together’
‘Dead Flowers’ (with Brad Paisley)
‘Shine A Light’
‘Under My Thumb’
‘Bitch’ (with Dave Grohl)

Explore our Rolling Stones Artist Page.

Format: Union Jack flagUK English
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top