Cast Album Release For Temptations’ Smash Hit ‘Ain’t Too Proud’ Musical

The cast album accompanies the record-breaking musical that tells the story of the Motown soul legends.

Published on

Ain't Too Proud cast recording

As the acclaimed stage production Ain’t Too Proud: The Life and Times of The Temptations hits Broadway, the show’s Original Broadway Cast Recording will be digitally released by UMe on 22 March. The show begins previews tonight (28) at Broadway’s Imperial Theatre on West 45th Street, New York, ahead of its opening night on 21 March.

The CD format will be sold exclusively at the Imperial Theatre from that opening night, with wide release to follow on 19 April. A 2LP vinyl edition will be released on 7 June. The cast album is a 29-track showcase of the Temptations’ most-loved Motown hits, from the early years of ‘My Girl,’ ‘Get Ready’ and ‘The Way You Do The Things You Do’ to the group’s psychedelic soul era of ‘Cloud Nine,’  ‘Ball Of Confusion’ and ‘Papa Was A Rollin’ Stone.’

The cast recording of another of those beloved hits, ‘Ain’t Too Proud To Beg,’ is available for streaming from today, and for immediate download with preorders of the album.

Ain’t Too Proud To Beg

Click to load video

The musical became the highest-grossing production in the 50-year history of Berkeley, California’s Repertory Theatre, before also breaking house records at the Kennedy Centre in Washington, DC. It follows the group’s evolution from the Detroit streets to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, and moved the Los Angeles Times to say that the show is “as irresistible as any of the Temptations’ greatest hits.”

Ain’t Too Proud is written by the three-time Obie Award winner Dominique Morisseau and directed by two-time Tony Award winner Des McAnuff, with choreography by Tony nominee Sergio Trujillo. More information and ticketing details are at the musical’s website. The show’s transition to Broadway comes after the acclaim for the Temptations’ first new album for eight years, All The Time, released in May 2018.

The Original Broadway Cast Recording of Ain’t Too Proud: The Life and Times of The Temptations is released digitally on 22 March. Scroll down for the full tracklisting, and pre-order it here.


Ain’t Too Proud: The Life and Times of The Temptations (Original Broadway Cast Recording)

Act I

1.   The Way You Do The Things You Do

2.   Runaway Child, Running Wild

3.   Gloria

4.   In The Still Of The Night / Speedo

5.   Shout

6.   I Want A Love I Can See

7.   My Girl

8.   Get Ready

9.   Supremes Medley: You Can’t Hurry Love / Come See About Me / Baby Love

10. Since I Lost My Baby

11. Ain’t Too Proud To Beg

12. Don’t Look Back / You’re My Everything

13. If I Could Build My Whole World Around You

14. If You Don’t Know Me By Now

15. (I Know) I’m Losing You

16. I Wish It Would Rain

17. I Could Never Love Another (After Loving You)

Act II

18. I Can’t Get Next To You

19. I’m Gonna Make You Love Me

20. War

21. Ball Of Confusion (That’s What The World Is Today)

22. Just My Imagination (Running Away With Me)

23. Superstar (Remember How You Got Where You Are)

24. For Once In My Life

25. Papa Was A Rollin’ Stone, Pt. 1

26. Cloud Nine

27. Papa Was A Rollin’ Stone, Pt. 2

28. What Becomes Of The Brokenhearted


29. I Can’t Get Next To You

Explore our Temptations Artist Page.

Format: Union Jack flagUK English
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top