Glenn Frey’s Solo Career Soars ‘Above The Clouds’ With New, Career-Spanning Box Set

Published on

Glenn Frey Clouds Box Set

A new four-disc box set is set to celebrate the solo career of the Eagles’ Glenn Frey. Entitled Above The Clouds: The Collection, the new box is set for release on 11 May through Geffen/USM.

Frey, a co-founding member of the Eagles, one of the world’s best-loved and best-selling bands, also carved out a notable solo career during their hiatus in the ’80s and beyond, something he carried through with as an artist right up until his untimely passing in January 2016.

Above the Clouds compiles the key elements of Frey’s music both before and after the Eagles became international superstars, showcasing the broad range and wide influence of the Detroit-bred singer-songwriter in the process. The collection is a fitting way to honor a singer-songwriter whose imagination knew no bounds.

Fans who preorder Above the Clouds: The Collection or the single-disc The Very Best of Glenn Frey will instantly receive downloads of ‘Lyin Eyes/Take It Easy’ medley and ‘The Heat is On.’ Those who order Above the Clouds: The Collection 4-disc deluxe edition will also receive downloads of ‘Run Boy Run’ on 13 April and ‘I Got Love’ on 4 May.

The first disc, aptly subtitled The Very Best of Glenn Frey, is chock-full of major chart hits, including the Beverly Hills Cop smash “The Heat Is On,” the gritty, slide-guitar-driven gutbucket groove of “Smuggler’s Blues,” the epic Miami Vice ballad “You Belong to the City,” the inward-looking poignancy of “Soul Searchin’,” and much more. This disc will be available as a stand-alone disc as well as part of the box set. And while Glenn clearly embraced the burgeoning video age, nabbing a vaunted 1985 MTV Music Video Award with the cinematically dramatic clip for “Smuggler’s Blues,” it’s the enduring essence of the man’s songwriting skills on display here that truly sealed his legacy as a solo artist.

Disc 2 explores Frey’s prowess beyond the charts, from the classy to the classic. Included are the broad swath of ‘After Hours,’ his majestic take on ‘For Sentimental Reasons,’ a harmonic nod to the Beach Boys with a spot-on cover of ‘Caroline, No,’ and the sheer battle cry of ‘Route 66’ among them.

Glenn Frey - Route 66

Click to load video

The third disc highlights the early output of the duo formed by longtime friends Frey and JD Souther known as Longbranch/Pennywhistle makes its digital debut. Originally released on the Amos label in 1969, the self-titled Longbranch/Pennywhistle may have ultimately been consigned to the side bins of the acid-rock era, but songs like ‘Kite Woman’ and ‘Run, Boy, Run’ serve as the literal seeds of the country-rock movement Frey and the Eagles perfected to a T. Besides navigating the success of his own fine solo career (see ‘You’re Only Lonely’). Souther also went on to be a chief Frey collaborator on such pivotal Eagles songs as ‘Best of My Love,’ ‘New Kid in Town,’ and ‘Heartache Tonight.’

The final disc, a live DVD culled from a telling performance at the National Stadium in Dublin, Ireland, in July 1992, on the Strange Weather tour, shows Frey and his top-shelf band at the height of their powers, veering from the cool-breeze manifestos of ‘Long Hot Summer’ and ‘Peaceful Easy Feeling’ to the rip-roaring crackle of ‘Strange Weather’ to the everyone-join-in vibes of ‘Party Town.’

Glenn Frey, both as solo artist and as a member of the Eagles, has received many accolades, including six Grammy Awards, numerous gold and platinum albums and performed sold-out concert tours worldwide. He was inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame in 1998 and posthumously received the Kennedy Center Honor in 2016 as a member of the Eagles.

Above The Clouds: The Collection will be released on 11 May. Scroll down to read the full tracklisting and pre-order it here.


Above The Clouds: The Collection [box set]:
Disc 1 – Above the Clouds: The Very Best of Glenn Frey
(Also available as a single/stand-alone disc)
‘The Heat Is On’
‘Call on Me (Theme from South of Sunset)’
‘Part of Me, Part of You’
‘You Belong to the City’
‘Smuggler’s Blues’
‘Sexy Girl’
‘The Allnighter’
‘Soul Searchin’
‘Same Girl’
‘The One You Love’
‘Strange Weather’
‘I’ve Got Mine’
‘River of Dreams’
‘Love in the 21st Century’
‘Lyin’ Eyes/ Take It Easy’ (Medley – Live at The Stadium: Dublin, Ireland)

Disc 2:
‘Let’s Go Home’
‘I Got Love’
‘The Way to Happiness’
‘Common Ground’
‘After Hours’
‘Rising Sun’ (Instrumental)
‘The Shadow of Your Smile’
‘Better in the U.S.A’
‘Brave New World’
‘Caroline, No’
‘For Sentimental Reasons’
‘It’s Too Soon to Know’
‘Worried Mind’
‘Lover’s Moon’
‘Route 66’
‘True Love’

Disc 3 – Longbranch/Pennywhistle (1969):
‘Jubilee Anne’
‘Run, Boy, Run’
‘Lucky Love’
‘Kite Woman’
‘Bring Back Funky Women’
‘Star-Spangled Bus’
‘Mister, Mister’
‘Don’t Talk Now’
‘Never Have Enough’

Disc Four DVD – Strange Weather/Live in Dublin
Recorded September 15, 1992, at the National Stadium, Dublin, Ireland:
‘Long Hot Summer’
‘Peaceful Easy Feeling’
‘New Kid in Town’
‘The One You Love’
‘Strange Weather’
‘I’ve Got Mine’
‘Medley: Lyin’ Eyes / Take It Easy’
‘Wild Mountain Theme’
‘River of Dreams’
‘True Love’
‘Love in the 21st Century’
‘Livin’ Right’
‘Smuggler’s Blues’
‘The Heat Is On’
‘Heartache Tonight’
‘Party Town’

Format: Union Jack flagUK English
Click to comment
Comments are temporarily disabled and will return shortly.
John Lennon - Mind Games The Ultimate Collection
John Lennon
Mind Games (The Ultimate Collection)
Frank Zappa - Apostrophe 50th Anniversary Edition
Frank Zappa
Apostrophe (50th Anniversary Edition)
Johnny Cash - Songwriter LP
Johnny Cash
Songwriter LP
Paul McCartney & Wings - One Hand Clapping 2LP+7
Paul McCartney & Wings
One Hand Clapping (Limited 2LP + 7″)
Paul McCartney & Wings - One Hand Clapping 2CD
Paul McCartney & Wings
One Hand Clapping 2CD
Paul McCartney & Wings - One Hand Clapping 2LP
Paul McCartney & Wings
One Hand Clapping 2LP
uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top