Jon Anderson Is Officially A Prog God

Published on

uDiscover Music Logo

Jon Anderson was guest of honour at last night’s (1 September) Progressive Music Awards 2016, where he was named Prog God for his long career with Yes and other collaborators including Vangelis and Reine Stolt (main image: Deborah Anderson).

The awards, in association with, were held at the Underglobe, beneath Shakespeare’s Globe Theatre, and as ever featured a strong turnout of the genre’s best-known names. Anderson’s recognition precedes his reunion with former colleagues Rick Wakeman and Trevor Rabin for a tour from October as ARW.

Other winners included Colosseum’s Jon Hiseman, who received the Visionary award; Buggles, who as reported earlier this week on uDiscover, won the Outer Limits title; Jakko Jakszyk of King Crimson, who took the Chris Squire Virtuoso award; Andy Summers, formerly of the Police, who was named Guiding Light; and Van Der Graaf Generator, who were handed the Lifetime Achievement title.

iamthemorning’s Lighthouse was named Album of the Year, with Big Big Train taking both Band of the Year and Live Event. The Mute Gods were awarded with the Vanguard trophy, with Riverside’s ‘Towards The Blue Horizon’ as Anthem of the year and the Anchoress winners of the Limelight award. The Storm Thorgerson Grand Design Award went to the Esoteric label’s reissue series of the catalogue of former Genesis co-founder Anthony Phillips.

Format: Union Jack flagUK English
1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Lucian - Gino Goilă

    September 2, 2016 at 11:05 pm

    Yes is a Master of progressive music! Long live Jon!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top