Katy Perry Details New Album ‘Smile’, Shares Bouncy Title Track

“When I listen to the song now, it’s a great reminder that I made it through. It’s three minutes of energizing hopefulness.”

Published on

Photo: Christine Hahn

After revealing the playful cover art earlier this week, Katy Perry has shared the infectious title track “Smile,” off her new album arriving on August 14 via Capitol Records.

The new single sounds like a burst of sunshine, as Perry takes stock of all of the things in her life, she’s grateful for and realizes that even setbacks can be blessings in disguise.

Click to load video

“I wrote this song when I was coming through one of the darkest periods of my life,” shared Perry. “When I listen to it now, it’s a great reminder that I made it through. It’s three minutes of energizing hopefulness.”

“I’m so thankful, scratch that baby, I’m grateful/Gotta say it’s really been a while, but now I got back that smile,” she sings on the head-bopping chorus.

Earlier today, Perry revealed the Smile album cover that featured the pop singer as a dispirited clown, sporting a red nose. The playful cover perfectly aligns with Perry’s flair for costumes and eye-catching covers.

Back in May, the pop icon announced she would be releasing her fifth studio album on August 14 and shared the atmospheric ballad ‘Daises’. Prior to that, she released a number of new singles to roll out her new album including ‘Daisies’, the Gold-certified “Never Really Over” and “Harleys In Hawaii”.

Since its release in May, “Daisies” has amassed more than 125 million combined global streams. Last week, Katy shared an acoustic version of the song. While in quarantine, she’s won acclaim for the wide variety of performances she has given of “Daisies” – including the American Idol season finale, the launch of the 2020 Good Morning America Concert Series and the Can’t Cancel Pride: Helping LGBTQ+ People in Need livestream

Perry also co-headlined the recent Democracy Summer 2020 livestream, which kicked off a campaign to register 200,000 new voters this summer, led by a coalition that includes Rock the Vote, Voto Latino Foundation, When We All Vote, March For Our Lives and others.

While no official tracklisting has been confirmed, fans who pre-order Smile will instantly receive “Smile” plus “Daisies,” “Never Really Over” and “Harleys In Hawaii.”

Along with pre-ordering the album, fans can also access exclusive Smile-themed merchandise bundles, available now at her official artist store.

Smile is out on August 14 and can be pre-ordered here.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top