Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame Announces 2021 Induction Date And Location

For the first time ever, the ceremony will be held at the home of the Cleveland Cavaliers on Oct 30.

Published on

Brian May-Nicholas Hunt-GettyImages
Photo: Nicholas Hunt/GettyImages

For the first time ever, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame will be held at the home of the Cleveland Cavaliers, Ohio’s Rocket Mortgage FieldHouse.

Taking place October 30, 2021, the ceremony was initially held at the Grand Ballroom of the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel and returned to Cleveland’s Public Hall in 2009, 2012, 2015, and 2018, respectively.

Not only is this the first time the venue will be used for the prestigious event, but it marks the first time that a basketball arena has hosted the proceedings.

The Hall of Fame’s class of 2021 has been confirmed as Mary J. Blige, Kate Bush, Devo, Foo Fighters, the Go-Go’s, Iron Maiden, Jay-Z, Chaka Khan, Carole King, Fela Kuti, LL Cool J, New York Dolls, Rage Against the Machine, Todd Rundgren, Tina Turner, and Dionne Warwick. The official inductees will be announced in May 2021.

The 16 names announced will be voted on by some 1,000 notables in the music industry, including artists, historians, and journalists. Fans can also vote and voting starts from now until April 30 and up to 5 nominees can be selected, so far Fela Kuti is taking the lead with 212093 votes.

Greg Harris, president and CEO of Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame And Museum, said: “We are honored to again host the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame induction ceremony in Cleveland, this year at the newly renovated Rocket Mortgage FieldHouse, and to serve as the place for rock and roll fans around the world to connect and celebrate our inductees all year long.”

When the ceremony was first held in 1997, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame honored the Bee Gees, Buffalo Springfield, the Jackson 5, Joni Mitchell, Parliament-Funkadelic, the (Young) Rascals, and Crosby, Still & Nash.

Previously known as the Gund Arena and the Quicken Loans Arena, The Rocket Mortgage FieldHouse has hosted the likes of the Rolling Stones, Beyoncé, Bruce Springsteen, and the E Street Band, Cher, U2, Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers, Paul McCartney, and Kanye West.

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame’s class of 2020 was the Nine Inch Nails, Depeche Mode, Whitney Houston, the Notorious B.I.G., T-Rex, and the Doobie Brothers, who were inducted in a virtual ceremony, on November 7, 2020.

To vote for 2021’s Rock and Roll Hall of Fame click here.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Don't Miss
uDiscover Music - Back To Top