BLACKPINK Unleash New Album, Premiere Video For ‘Lovesick Girls’

With guest spots from Selena Gomez and Cardi B, The Album is the first full-length studio effort from the powerhouse K-pop quartet.

Published on

Photo: YG/Interscope/Youtube

K-pop superstars BLACKPINK have finally released their long-anticipated debut, The Album, along with a mind-blowing visual for their single “Lovesick Girls.”

With guest spots from Selena Gomez and Cardi B, The Album is the first full-length studio effort from the powerhouse K-pop quartet. Ahead of the premiere of  “Lovesick Girls,” the K-pop idols appeared on the new Youtube series, Released, where they talked about their favorite songs on The Album, and how they were “blown away” by Cardi B’s feature on “Bet You Wanna.”

Later this month, BLACKPINK will achieve another milestone with the premiere of their highly awaited Netflix documentary, Light Up The Sky. Arriving on October 14, the all-access documentary details the hard-fought journey of the dreams and trials behind their meteoric rise.

Along with “Lovesick Girls,” The Album features BLACKPINK’s smash hit singles “How You Like That” and “Ice Cream” (featuring Selena Gomez). Along with star-studded collaborations, renowned French Dj and producer David Guetta put his sonic footprint on many of the tracks including “Lovesick Girls.”

Click to load video

Released on June 26, “How You Like That” recently won Song of Summer at the 2020 MTV Video Music Awards. The trap-pop anthem also shattered a number of YouTube records (including most views within the first 24 hours for a music video) and charted in 26 countries around the world.

Meanwhile, “Ice Cream” debuted at No.13 on the Billboard Hot 100 following its August 28 premiere, emerging as the first BLACKPINK single to crack the chart’s Top 20.

BLACKPINK members Jisoo, Jennie, Rosé, and Lisa first rose to fame in 2016 with their hit single “Ddu-Du Ddu-Du.” Since then, they’ve conquered the global pop landscape with several crossover hits like “Square Up” and were featured on Lady Gaga’s track “Sour Candy” off her Chromatica album.

“It’s been a while and we feel like it’s about the right time for us to be coming out with [an album]. It contains a wide variety of music that we’ve tried to explore,” Rosé told CNN in a new interview. “We hope that our fans can see that and we have some very vulnerable songs and fun songs and some of our dream collaborations.”

The Album can be bought here. View the full tracklisting below.

1. How You Like That
2. Ice Cream (feat. Selena Gomez)
3. Pretty Savage
4. Bet You Wanna (feat. Cardi B)
5. Lovesick Girls
6. Crazy Over You
7. Love To Hate Me
8. You Never Know

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top