BLACKPINK Detail New Netflix Documentary, ‘Light Up The Sky’

The hotly-anticipated film is all set to premiere on October 14.

Published on

Photo: Rich Fury/Getty Images for Coachella

Netflix has announced the forthcoming premiere of a new documentary on K-pop superstars BLACKPINK, titled Light Up The Sky.

Taking to social media to make the announcement, the streaming giant described the forthcoming feature as “an all-access documentary about one of the world’s most popular groups”.

Upon the release of Light Up The Sky on Wednesday October 14, pictures of the group’s members – Lisa, Rosé, Jisoo and Jenni – will also be made available as profile icons on Netflix.

The documentary’s release will come just under a fortnight after the release of the group’s highly anticipated debut studio album. Fans have heard two tracks from the album so far – “How You Like That” and the Selena Gomez-featuring “Ice Cream” which was co-written by Ariana Grande and Victoria Monet.

BLACKPINK - 'Ice Cream (with Selena Gomez)' M/V

Click to load video

BLACKPINK have had three releases in 2020 thus far, including the two aforementioned singles and featuring on Lady Gaga‘s “Sour Candy”.
The release of “How You Like That” saw the group break multiple records. Most notably, the track’s music video garnered a staggering 86.3 million views in the 24 hours following its release, which at the time set the record for most views in a 24 hour period on the platform. However, this was later beaten by fellow K-pop superstars BTS, whose ‘Dynamite‘ video earned 101.1 million views in 24 hours.

In just the span of four years, BLACKPINK have redefined the possibilities of K-pop, transcending all categorization and ascending to global stardom. With their unstoppably catchy single “DDU-DU DDU-DU,” the South Korean quartet broke the record for highest-charting Billboard Hot 100 debut by an all-female K-pop act, while its head-turning video surpassed 10 million views in just six hours and racked up 36.2 million views in one day.

Discovered by YG Entertainment, BLACKPINK is comprised of Jisoo, Jennie, Lisa, and Rosé. Released in 2016, their debut EP ‘Square One’ quickly proved their crossover power; in 2018, their ‘Square Up’ EP climbed to No.40 on the Billboard 200 and No.1 on the Billboard World Albums chart.

Listen to the best of BLACKPINK on Apple Music and Spotify.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top