Roxy Music’s Self-Titled Debut & ‘For Your Pleasure’ Set For Half-Speed Vinyl Reissue

First issued in 1972 and 1973, these seminal titles put the band at the forefront of the art-rock movement.

Published on

Roxy Music - Photo: Brian Cooke

Roxy Music are set to release newly-remastered half-speed editions of their legendary self-titled debut album and its acclaimed follow-up, For Your Pleasure. Both titles have been afforded a fresh Half-Speed cut by Miles Showell at Abbey Road Studios in London. To reflect the audio, the albums have had their artwork revised and with a gloss laminated finish so that each album is not just a record it’s a piece of art.

Roxy Music’s self-titled seminal classic debut, first released in 1972, firmly put Bryan Ferry and Eno at the forefront of the art-rock movement, their penchant for glamour was showcased in the lyrics and immortalized in the 1950s-style album cover. Debuting in the UK Top 10 the album would go on to become one of the pioneering art rock albums of all time.

Roxy Music has continually been praised by successive generations of critics. In 2003, Rolling Stone included the album at number 62 in its list of the best debut albums of all time and stated: “In England in the early Seventies, there was nerdy art-rock and sexy glam-rock and rarely did the twain meet. Until this record, that is.”

Click to load video

In 1973 Roxy Music followed up their debut album with For Your Pleasure. This time the band were able to spend more time in the studio, resulting in the production values being more elaborate and experimental, Brian Eno’s blend of tape loop effects abundantly apparent on “The Bogus Man” and “Do the Strand” has been called the archetypal Roxy Music anthem. Ascending the charts For Your Pleasure would earn the band a UK No 4 position. The cover photo, taken by Karl Stoecker, featured Bryan Ferry’s girlfriend at the time, singer and model Amanda Lear, who later became Salvador Dalí’s muse.

As with Roxy Music, For Your Pleasure has been widely acclaimed. In 2000, Q placed For Your Pleasure at number 33 on its list of the “100 Greatest British Albums Ever”.

Pre-order Roxy Music and For Your Pleasure.

Roxy Music includes the following tracks:

“If There Is Something”
“The Bob (Medley)”
“Chance Meeting”
“Would You Believe?”
“Sea Breezes”
“Bitters End”

For Your Pleasure includes the following tracks:

“Do The Strand”
“Beauty Queen”
“Strictly Confidential”
“Editions Of You”
“In Every Dream Home A Heartache”
“The Bogus Man”
“Grey Lagoons”
“For Your Pleasure”

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top