The Streets Cancel 2022 UK Tour Dates Due To COVID-Related Issues

Mike Skinner said, ““I’m really sorry to disappoint you. This has been the worst week of the worst year of my life.”

Published on

The Streets - Photo: Gina Wetzler/Redferns

The Streets have cancelled all their January and February tour dates for 2022.

The Mike Skinner-led project returned to the stage with a number of festival slots this summer. These were going to be followed by a run of gigs across the country early next year. However, in a new post on Instagram, Skinner announced that the tour dates had now been cancelled.

He wrote: “It is with a very heavy heart that I have to say that we have decided to cancel all live performances for 2022. It is not fair to keep taking your money for tickets knowing that with 1 case of COVID, the whole thing has to stop.

“I’m really sorry to disappoint you. This has been the worst week of the worst year of my life.”

Last week, The Streets were confirmed among the first acts announced for NASS Festival’s 2022 edition. The festival, known for being the UK’s biggest celebration of music, street art, skate and BMX, will take place July 7-10, 2022 at the Bath and West Showground near Bristol.

Earlier this year, Skinner’s The Darker The Shadow The Brighter The Light side project released a surprise album titled The Streets. It’s thought that the record could be the soundtrack for a forthcoming film made by the musician, which he discussed last year.

In an interview with the BBC, he said he was working on a musical drama in a similar vein to The Who’s rock opera Quadrophenia.

The dates affected are as follows:


10, 11, 12, 13, 14 – Birmingham, The Mill
21 – Birmingham, O2 Academy
22 – Sheffield, O2 Academy
24 – Bristol, O2 Academy
25 – Nottingham, Rock City
27, 28 – London, O2 Academy Brixton
31 – Leeds, O2 Academy


1 – Glasgow, O2 Academy
3 – Newcastle, O2 City Hall
4 – Manchester, O2 Victoria Warehouse
5 – Liverpool, University Mountford Hall

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top