Tears For Fears Share Empowering New Single, ‘Break The Man’

The arresting new track is the third taster from the dup’s much-anticipated new album, ‘The Tipping Point’, out on February 25.

Published on

Tears-For-Fears-Break-The-Man
Tears For Fears - Photo: Frank Ockenfels

Tears For Fears have released “Break The Man,” the third single off their highly anticipated first studio album in seventeen years, The Tipping Point, arriving February 25, 2022 via Concord Records. Co-written by Curt Smith and Charlton Pettus, and co-produced by Smith, Roland Orzabal, and Pettus the band has crafted an empowering yet groovy track, with the overarching message being to break the patriarchy. You can hear it below.

Of the song Curt says, “‘Break The Man’ is about a strong woman, and breaking the patriarchy. I feel that a lot of the problems we’ve been having as a country and even worldwide to a certain degree has come from male dominance. It’s a song about a woman who is strong enough to break the man. For me, that would be an answer to a lot of the problems in the world – a better male-female balance.”

The Tipping Point is one of 2022’s most anticipated albums according to Pitchfork, Vulture, Stereogum and many more. Also, starting today a limited edition cassette is available for pre-order only through the band’s exclusive web store and independent retail.

In October the pair released the first single & title track, “The Tipping Point,” capturing the grief of watching someone you love lose their long-standing battle with disease. Their second single “No Small Thing” was a meeting of the minds as the pair went back to the drawing board and found the heart and soul that would complete the album. The accompanying video was made using solely found footage showing the conflict between individual freedoms and collective responsibility.

In November, the band also announced ‘The Tipping Point’ world tour, with support from Garbage on the U.S. leg. Kicking off in Cincinnati, OH on May 20th, 2022, these dates will see the band performing in over twenty cities across North America before capping off with their last show in Wantagh, NY on June 25, 2022. These dates will mark the band’s first U.S. tour since 2017. You can see a full list of dates below.

Pre-order The Tipping Point.

TEARS FOR FEARS – 2022 US TOUR DATES:
Friday, May 20, 2022 – Riverbend Music Center – Cincinnati, OH
Saturday, May 21, 2022 – Blossom Music Center – Cleveland, OH
Tuesday, May 24, 2022 – The Pavilion at Toyota Music Factory – Dallas, TX
Friday, May 27, 2022 – Ak-Chin Pavilion – Phoenix, AZ
Sunday, May 29, 2022 – Levitt Pavilion – Denver, CO
Wednesday, June 01, 2022 – Concord Pavilion – Concord, CA
Thursday, June 02, 2022 – Shoreline Amphitheatre – Mountain View, CA
Saturday, June 04, 2022 – The Forum – Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, June 05, 2022 – North Island Credit Union Amphitheatre – San Diego, CA
Thursday, June 09, 2022 – iTHINK Financial Amphitheatre – West Palm Beach, FL
Friday, June 10, 2022 – MIDFLORIDA Credit Union Amphitheater – Tampa, FL
Sunday, June 12, 2022 – Ameris Bank Amphitheatre – Atlanta, GA
Monday, June 13, 2022 – PNC Music Pavilion – Charlotte, NC
Wednesday, June 15, 2022 – DTE Energy Music Theatre – Detroit, MI
Thursday, June 16, 2022 – Hollywood Casino Amphitheatre – Chicago, IL
Friday, June 17, 2022 – Ruoff Music Center – Indianapolis, IN
Sunday, June 19, 2022 – Merriweather Post Pavilion – Columbia, MD
Tuesday, June 21, 2022 – TD Pavilion at The Mann – Philadelphia, PA
Wednesday, June 22, 2022 – Leader Bank Pavilion – Boston, MA
Friday, June 24, 2022 – P.N.C. Bank Arts Center – Holmdel, NJ
Saturday, June 25, 2022 – Northwell Health at Jones Beach Theater – Wantagh, NY

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Don't Miss
uDiscover Music - Back To Top