Broken Social Scene Announce ‘Old Dead Young’ Compilation, Release ‘This House Is On Fire’

‘Old Dead Young’ is out January 14.

Published on

Broken Social Scene - Photo: Richmond Lam
Broken Social Scene - Photo: Richmond Lam

Today, Toronto indie rock collective Broken Social Scene announced Old Dead Young: B-Sides & Rarities, a career-spanning collection of B-sides, rarities, and outtakes pulled from 20 years of 7-inches, compilations, soundtracks, and hard-to-find releases. The album is out January 14.

Fans can pre-order the album and stream the first single “This House Is On Fire,” a lush and heartbreaking dream pop track taken from the 2009 Forgiveness Rock Record recording sessions.

Broken Social Scene - This House Is On Fire (Visualizer)

Click to load video

Once a two-person basement recording project, Broken Social Scene came to life onstage as a shadowy improvisational entity with a revolving-door roster, each concert a wholly unique experience dependent on the room, the weather, what they ate for dinner that night, and who was dropping in to play.

here the band’s 2001 debut album, Feel Good Lost, presented BSS as an anonymous ambient project that reflected its humble, homespun origins, their electrifying live performances from that era rallied an extended family of performers with roots in post-rock (Justin Peroff; Do Make Say Think’s Charles Spearin), Latin jazz (Andrew Whiteman), art-folk (Feist), synth-pop (Amy Millan and Evan Cranley, also of Stars), dance-punk (Metric’s Emily Haines and Jimmy Shaw), and country rock (Jason Collett).

But by pursuing improvisational freedom over commercial considerations, Broken Social Scene set a new gold standard for indie rock in the 21st century with 2002’s You Forgot It In People, an album that pushed the genre far beyond its noisy 90s slacker roots toward a more sonically expansive, emotionally expressive vision. And with follow up releases like the blissfully chaotic Broken Social Scene (2005), the rapturous Forgiveness Rock Record (2010), and the intricate, melodic Hug of Thunder (2017), Broken Social Scene have amassed a thrillingly amorphous, unpredictable body of work. Old Dead Young: B-Sides & Rarities is everything that happened in between.

Pre-order Old Dead Young: B-Sides & Rarities

Old Dead Young: B-Sides & Rarities Tracklist:

1) “Far Out” (2009, From the Forgiveness Rock Record pre-order EP Lo-Fi For The Dividing Nights)
2) “Do the 95” (2001, B-Side to “Stars and Sons” 7-inch)
3) “Curse Your Fail” (2009, From tour 7-inch split with Sea and Cake)
4) “Not At My Best” (2010, From the end credits for film It’s Kind Of A Funny Story)
5) “National Anthem of Nowhere” (2004, Early Broken Social Scene version of an Apostle Of Hustle song)
6) “Golden Facelift” (2009, Forgiveness Rock Record outtake. Released on Globe & Mail’s Broadsheet Music project)
7) “This House Is On Fire” (2009, Forgiveness Rock Record outtake)
8) “Canada vs America” (2004, From the Self-Titled bonus CD EP to be You and Me)
9) “Day Of The Kid” (2005, Released on Arts & Crafts 20th anniversary comp)
10) “Stars and Spit” (2006, B-Side to “7/4 Shoreline” 7-inch)
11) “Until It’s Dead” (2006, From Lake Ontario Waterkeeper compilation At The Barricades: Vol 1)
12) “All My Friends” (2004, From the Self-Titled bonus CD EP to be You and Me)
13) “Death Cock” (2001, Very first recording with producer Dave Newfeld. Released on A&C 20th anniversary compilation)
14) “Old Dead Young” (2016, Hug Of Thunder vinyl-only track)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top