Halsey Shares Tracklist For New Album, ‘If I Can’t Have Love, I Want Power’

Produced by Nine Inch Nails’ Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross, the new record is due out on August 27.

Published on

Photo: Lucas Garrido

Halsey has shared the official album tracklist for new album If I Can’t Have Love, I Want Power.

The singer’s fourth studio album was produced by Nine Inch Nails’ Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross, and is set for release on August 27 via Capitol Records.

Halsey revealed the tracklist for If I Can’t Have Love, I Want Power on social media last night, August 10, and confirmed that the record does not have any guest features.

“It feels very cool to have an album with no features again,” Halsey said. “It felt like this had to be entirely from my voice, similarly to [2015 debut album] Badlands. I can’t wait for you to hear everything.”

Halsey also explained to one fan that the album was “always supposed to be about mortality and everlasting love and our place/permanence, It was just amplified by me being pregnant. Introduced new themes of control and body horror and autonomy and conceit.”

If I Can’t Have Love, I Want Power – Film Trailer

Click to load video

“This album is a concept album about the joys and horrors of pregnancy and childbirth,” Halsey wrote on Instagram.

“It was very important to me that the cover art conveyed the sentiment of my journey over the past few months…. This cover image celebrates pregnant and postpartum bodies as something beautiful, to be admired. We have a long way to go with eradicating the social stigma around bodies & breastfeeding. I hope this can be a step in the right direction!”

Halsey recently revealed the cover art for the album, in which she channels the old masters. She officially revealed the striking piece of art at The Metropolitan Museum of Art. The pregnant singer is pictured sitting atop of giant gold throne with a bejeweled crown, her breasts exposed and holding a young infant. Her regal pose fits right in with the countless royal portraits that line the halls of the Met in New York City.

Last month Halsey shared the trailer for If I Can’t Have Love, I Want Power’s accompanying film, which is set to be screened in select IMAX theatres later this month.

If I Can’t have Love, I Want Power includes the following tracks:

“The Tradition”
“Bells in Santa Fe”
“Easier than Lying”
“Girl is a Guy”
“You asked for this”
“I am not a woman, I’m a god”
“The Lighthouse”

Pre-order If I Can’t Have Love, I Want Power.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top