Snarky Puppy’s Purple Patch Continues

Published on

The remarkably prolific, groundbreaking jazz collective Snarky Puppy will release their 11th studio album, Culcha Vulcha, on 29 April. It will arrive on GroundUP Music, via Universal Music Classics, less than three months after Family Dinner Volume Two, which boasted collaborations with David Crosby, Laura Mvula, Salif Keita and others.

The new release is an all-instrumental set, and the band will support it with an extensive American tour. Dates begin on 30 April in Atlanta and run through most of May, concluding with a show at the Georgia Theatre in Athens on 26 May.

Snarky Puppy, formed in Brooklyn in 2004, won their second Grammy at this year’s ceremony, taking Best Contemporary Instrumental Album for Sylva, with the Metropole Orkest. The set was their previous release before Family Dinner Volume Two, and was itself only released in May last year. The band’s previous Grammy was for Best R&B Performance, along with Lalah Hathaway, for their version of the Brenda Russell song ‘Something,’ from the Family Dinner Volume One album, released in 2013.

The track listing for Culcha Vulcha is as follows:

1. ‘Tarova’
2. ‘Semente’
3. ‘Gemini’
4. ‘Grown Folks’
5. ‘Beep Box’
6. ‘GØ’
7. ‘The Simple Life’
8. ‘Palermo’
9. ‘Big Ugly’


Format: Union Jack flagUK English
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top