Billie Eilish & Finneas, Hans Zimmer, Questlove Among Winners At 2022 Oscars

Last night’s star-studded Academy Awards ceremony took place at the Dolby Theater in Los Angeles.

Published on

Billie Eilish & Finneas - Photo: John Shearer/Getty Images

Billie Eilish & Finneas, Hans Zimmer and The Roots’ Ahmir ‘Questlove’ Thompson were among the winners at the star-studded 2022 Oscars ceremony at the Dolby Theater in Los Angeles on Sunday, March 27.

Billie Eilish and Finneas won their first Oscar for their James Bond theme tune “No Time To Die.” This year is the first time that the sibling musicians have been nominated for one of the prestigious statuettes, with them taking home the award for Best Original Song.

Eilish and Finneas beat the likes of Beyoncé, Van Morrison, Reba McEntire and Lin-Manuel Miranda to the trophy. Eilish is now reportedly the youngest person to win the “triple crown” of film music, having won an Oscar, Grammy and Golden Globe for “No Time To Die”.

Collecting the prize, Eilish said between laughter: “This is so unbelievable I could scream.” She continued to thank the team behind the latest Bond movie, No Time To Die, highlighting one of their collaborators. “Johnny Marr for taking our song and making it worthy of James Bond,” she said.

The pair also performed “No Time To Die” at the event, backed by string players and percussionists. As Eilish sang from the centre of the stage, laser-like beams of light moved slowly around her.

Composer Hans Zimmer won the Oscar for Music (Original Score) for his widely-acclaimed Dune soundtrack. Questlove, meanwhile, won the award for Documentary Feature for Summer Of Soul along with Joseph Patel, Robert Fyvolent, David Dinerstein.

Elsewhere, K-pop superstars BTS made a special appearance in a segment titled “Favorite Film Musical With BTS”. During the pre-recorded video segment, the septet where they shared some of their favourite film musical moments.

You can re-watch the 94th Academy Awards on Monday 28 at 7pm on Sky Cinema or from 10pm on Sky Showcase.

The full list of winners from the 2022 Oscars is as follows:

BEST PICTURE: CODA – Philippe Rousselet, Fabrice Gianfermi, Patrick Wachsberger
ACTOR IN A LEADING ROLE: Will Smith – King Richard
ACTRESS IN A LEADING ROLE: Jessica Chastain – The Eyes Of Tammy Faye
ACTRESS IN A SUPPORTING ROLE: Ariana DeBose – West Side Story
DIRECTING: Jane Campion – The Power Of The Dog
ANIMATED SHORT FILM: The Windshield Wiper – Alberto Mielgo, Leo Sanchez
COSTUME DESIGN: Cruella – Jenny Beavan
LIVE ACTION SHORT FILM: The Long Goodbye – Aneil Karia, Riz Ahmed
MUSIC (ORIGINAL SCORE): Dune – Hans Zimmer
SOUND: Dune – Mac Ruth, Mark Mangini, Theo Green, Doug Hemphill, Ron Bartlett
WRITING (ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY): Belfast – Kenneth Branagh
ANIMATED FEATURE FILM: Encanto – Jared Bush, Byron Howard, Yvett Merino, Clark Spencer
CINEMATOGRAPHY: Dune – Greig Fraser
DOCUMENTARY FEATURE: Summer Of Soul – Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson, Joseph Patel, Robert Fyvolent, David Dinerstein
DOCUMENTARY SHORT SUBJECT: The Queen Of Basketball – Ben Proudfoot
FILM EDITING: Dune – Joe Walker
MAKEUP AND HAIRSTYLING: The Eyes Of Tammy Faye – Linda Dowds, Stephanie Ingram and Justin Raleigh
MUSIC (ORIGINAL SONG): No Time To Die (No Time To Die) – Billie Eilish, Finneas O’Connell
PRODUCTION DESIGN: Dune – Production Design: Patrice Vermette; Set Decoration; Zsuzsanna Sipos
VISUAL EFFECTS: Dune – Paul Lambert, Tristan Myles, Brian Connor, Gerd Nefzer

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top