(function(h,o,t,j,a,r){ h.hj=h.hj||function(){(h.hj.q=h.hj.q||[]).push(arguments)}; h._hjSettings={hjid:104204,hjsv:5}; a=o.getElementsByTagName('head')[0]; r=o.createElement('script');r.async=1; r.src=t+h._hjSettings.hjid+j+h._hjSettings.hjsv; a.appendChild(r); })(window,document,'//static.hotjar.com/c/hotjar-','.js?sv=');
Join us


Island and BBC 6 Music Team Up

Published on

Island Records and UK national broadcaster BBC 6 Music are teaming up for a new compilation out early next month featuring tracks selected by the network’s presenters and producers. ‘BBC Radio 6 Music’s Alternative Jukebox’ will be released in the UK on November 3.

The album, which features everyone from Cream and Janis Joplin to Portishead and PJ Harvey, accompanies a new book of 500 alternative tracks selected by the station team, which was published on Monday (October 6) by Octopus. The book and the CD were launched at Rough Trade East last night, with a panel discussion featuring presenters Don Letts, Cerys Matthews and Gilles Peterson with journalist Miranda Sawyer.

The full track listing for ‘BBC Radio 6 Music’s Alternative Jukebox’ is as follows:

CD 1
1. Robert Johnson ‘Cross Roads Blues’ (chosen by Craig Charles)
2. Cream ‘Strange Brew’ (chosen by Cerys Matthews)
3. Booker T And The MG’s ‘Time Is Tight’ (chosen by Steve Lamacq)
4. Janis Joplin ‘Summertime’ (chosen by Huey Morgan)
5. Marvin Gaye ‘What’s Going On’ (chosen by Mary Ann Hobbs)
6. Toots & The Maytals ‘Pressure Drop’
7. John Lee Hooker ‘Black Snake’ (chosen by Cerys Matthews)
8. Parliament ‘P-Funk (Wants To Get Funked up)’ (chosen by Craig Charles)
9. Siouxsie & The Banshees ‘Hong Kong Garden’ (chosen by Nemone)
10. Buzzcocks ‘What Do I Get’ (chosen by Chris Hawkins)
11. Patti Smith Group ‘Frederick’ (chosen by Mary Ann Hobbs)
12. Talking Heads ‘Once In A Lifetime’ (chosen by Chris Hawkins)
13. The Specials ‘Ghost Town (chosen by Chris Hawkins)
14. Billy Bragg ‘A New England’ (chosen by Steve Lamacq)
15. Echo & The Bunnymen ‘The Cutter’ (chosen by Liz Kershaw)
16. Pixies ‘Where Is My Mind’ (chosen by Nemone)
17. The Blue Nile ‘Easter Parade’ (chosen by Gideon Coe)
18. A Tribe Called Quest ‘Luck of Lucien’ (chosen by Gilles Petersen)
19. The Stone Roses “I Am The Resurrection” (chosen by Chris Hawkins)

1. Stereolab ‘French Disko’ (chosen by Mark Radcliffe)
2. Jeff Buckley ‘ Grace’ (chosen by Mary Ann Hobbs)
3. Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds ‘Red Right Hand’ (chosen by Mary Ann Hobbs)
4. Portishead ‘Strangers’ (chosen by Giles Peterson)
5. Goldie ‘Inner City Life’
6. Super Furry Animals ‘Ice Hockey Hair’ (chosen by Marc Riley)
7. The Flaming Lips ‘Race For The Prize’ (chosen by Steve Lamacq)
8. Radiohead ‘ Pyramid Song’ (chosen by Mary Ann Hobbs)
9. Terry Callier ‘Dancing Girl’ (chosen by Giles Peterson)
10. Elbow ‘Weather To Fly’ (chosen by Don Letts)
11. Gil Scott-Heron ‘New York Is Killing Me’
12. PJ Harvey ‘Written On The Forehead’ (chosen by Don Letts)
13. alt-J ‘Breezeblocks’ (chosen by Steve Lamacq)
14. First Aid Kit ‘Emmylou’ (chosen by Mark Radcliffe)
15. Jesse Boykins III & Melo-X ‘The Perfect Blues (chosen by Don Letts)

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. rodger paulkoss

    October 12, 2014 at 1:36 pm

    Is that the best they can come up with? Blimey, run of the mill standards. Lord have mercy. 🙁

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Don't Miss