Robyn Returns With New Single ‘Missing U’

The song is Robyn’s first official single since 2010 when she released the Grammy-nominated ‘Body Talk’ series.

Published on

Robyn photo by Per Ole Hagen and Redferns
Photo: Per Ole Hagen/Redferns

Widely-acclaimed Swedish singer-songwriter Robyn returns with a new song ‘Missing U’, her first official single in eight years. The singer previously released a short film for her new song ‘Missing U’, which you can watch below. In the 7-minute video, directed by Danilo Parra, Robyn listens to messages from fans and attends at a monthly Robyn-themed club night at the Brooklyn Bowl in Williamsburg, New York.

Robyn also discusses her new single in the film. “‘Missing U’ is a song about this trippy thing that happens when you disappear, like they become even more clear, you see them everywhere,” she explains. “It’s also maybe a little bit of a message to my fans… that I’ve missed them.” The singer teamed up with Joseph Mount (Metronomy) and long-time collaborator Klas Åhlund (Charli XCX, Madonna) to write and produce the track.

‘Missing U’ officially  premiered today by Annie Mac on BBC Radio 1, you can listen to the full interview here.

The single arrives on streaming services on Wednesday, 1 August. It’s her first new solo track since ‘Honey’, which appeared on a 2017 episode of US TV series Girls.

Back in February, Robyn announced that her next album would be released “sometime this year.” In a recent interview, she said of the upcoming record, “It’s not finished yet but it’s almost there.”

Robyn - Missing U - A Message To My Fans (Teaser)

Click to load video

Robyn told Pitchfork in May that the new album is a “softer” record. She also discussed plans to tour the new album.

“The whole process of making this album was been very, very different from anything I’ve done before. I felt very raw when I started making this album,” she said.

The singer started writing the record alone rather than with collaborators, which gave her space to “get in touch with a sensuality and a softness” that she had wanted to explore.

Robyn previously released a trilogy of mini-albums in 2010, known as the Body Talk series. They received broad critical praise, three Grammy Award nominations, and produced three top-10 singles: ‘Dancing On My Own’, ‘Hang with Me’ and ‘Indestructible’. The singer followed this with two collaborative EPs: Do It Again (2014) with Röyksopp, and Love Is Free (2015) with La Bagatelle Magique.

Format: Union Jack flagUK English
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top