Sting’s ‘The Soul Cages’ Arrives In Expanded 30th Anniversary Edition

The new release features the original nine-track album as well as 13 bonus tracks.

Published on

Sting Soul Cages expanded edition

A&M/UMe has today (15) released a 30th anniversary, digital-only, expanded edition of Sting’s chart-topping, Grammy-winning third solo album The Soul Cages.

The new release features the original nine-track album as well as 13 bonus tracks, which include remixes, extended mixes, the Italian version of “Mad About You,” and the recording of “Why Should I Cry For You” in Spanish. Seven of the bonus tracks are previously unavailable for downloading or streaming.

The album, produced by Sting and Hugh Padgham, was centered on the artist’s deep sense of personal loss after the death of his father. It marked the first appearance on a Sting album by his frequent collaborator, guitarist Dominic Miller. Other contributors included keyboardists David Sancious and the late Kenny Kirkland, saxophonist Branford Marsalis, drummer Manu Katché, and percussionist Ray Cooper. Sting himself featured on bass, mandolin, and synthesizer, as well as all lead vocals.

The Soul Cages was certified both gold and platinum by the RIAA within weeks of its release, and topped the album charts in five countries, including the UK and Canada. It reached No.2 on the Billboard 200, while its lead single “All This Time” was a No.5 smash on the Hot 100, No.1 on Billboard’s Mainstream Rock and Modern Rock charts, and No.9 on Adult Contemporary.

The album’s title track won the Grammy Award for Best Rock Song in 1992, and was itself a Top 10 Mainstream Rock and Modern Rock hit. “Mad About You” and “Why Should I Cry For You” were also popular singles from the set.

The subject matter on The Soul Cages continued to impact Sting’s creative output, inspiring his first stage musical, 2014’s The Last Ship, and its focus on the rise and fall of the shipbuilding industry in his native Tyne and Wear region of north east England.

The expanded The Soul Cages can be bought here.

The full tracklist of the expanded album is:

1. “Island Of Souls”
2. “All This Time”
3. “Mad About You”
4. “Jeremiah Blues (Part 1)”
5. “Why Should I Cry For You”
6. “Saint Agnes And The Burning Train”
7. “The Wild Wild Sea”
8. ”The Soul Cages”
9. ”When The Angels Fall”
10. “I Miss You Kate” (Instrumental) [Bonus Track]
11. “Come Down In Time” [Bonus Track] *
12. “Tempted” (Live) [Bonus Track] *
13. “Ne Me Quitte Pas” (Live) [Bonus Track] *
14. “Oo La La Hugh” [Bonus Track] *
15. “Mad About You” (Original Remix) [Bonus Track] *
16. “Mad About You” (Remix Edit) [Bonus Track] *
17. “Mad About You” (12” Remix) [Bonus Track] *
18. “Mad About You” (Italian Version) [Bonus Track]
19. “Why Should I Cry For You” (Spanish Version) [Bonus Track]
20. “Why Should I Cry For You” (Extended Mix) [Bonus Track]
21. ”The Soul Cages” (Edit) [Bonus Track]
22. “All This Time” (Edit) [Bonus Track]
* Not previously available digitally

Listen to the best of Sting on Apple Music and Spotify.

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Ben Williams

    January 15, 2021 at 6:59 pm

    Would love this expanded version on CD – head over to the site super deluxe edition, there are a lot of people who are desperate to buy this on CD as well as other expanded Sting albums!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top