Band Perry Among Winners At CMT’s Glittering Night

Published on

Little Big Town CMT Music Awards

Last night’s (June 4) CMT Music Awards, held in Nashville as the curtain-raiser for the CMA Music Festival, were a night of triumph for a number of Universal’s country superstars.

The Band Perry won the Group Video of the Year for the track ‘Done’ from their current album ‘Pioneer,’ while Cassadee Pope, soon to make her international debut with her ‘Frame By Frame’ album, won Breakthrough Video of the Year for her US platinum selling hit ‘Wasting All These Tears,’ presented to her by Blake Shelton.

Florida Georgia Line, the duo of Bryan Kelley and Tyler Hubbard who took the country music scene by storm last year, took home the Duo Video of the Year trophy for one of their five different million-plus selling singles so far, ‘Round Here,’ as well as Collaborative Video of the Year for ‘This Is How We Roll,’ with Luke Bryan, who joined them to play the song live, with a guest spot by Jason Derulo.

Perhaps the most surprising name among the country honours was Lionel Richie, whose collaboration with Luke Bryan on ‘Oh No’/’All Night Long’ was the CMT Performance of the Year. Alan Jackson was given the CMT Impact Award for his 25 years of video making, and Lee Ann Womack and Kacey Musgraves performed his 1994 hit ‘Livin’ On Love.’

Other live performances at the glittering occasion included Eric Church’s ‘That’s Damn Rock and Roll,’ co-starring Lzzy Hale from hard rockers Halestorm, while Jennifer Nettles from Sugarland teamed up with John Legend to sing ‘All Of Me.’ Lady Antebellum performed their new single ‘Bartender’ and Little Big Town did theirs, ‘Day Drinking.’

Format: Union Jack flagUK English
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top