Nine Inch Nails, T.Rex Named Among The 2020 Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame Inductees

Whitney Houston, Notorious B.I.G and The Doobie Brothers are also among the Class Of 2020 inductees.

Published on

Photo: Corinne Schiavone

The inductees have been announced for the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame’s Class of 2020, with Nine Inch Nails, Depeche Mode, The Doobie Brothers, Whitney Houston, The Notorious B.I.G. and T. Rex revealed as the six acts to be honoured at the Public Auditorium in Cleveland, Ohio, on 2 May.

Of the six musical acts entering the Hall, only Depeche Mode and NIN were previously nominated; each gets in on its third try. The rest are first-time nominees, with all but Notorious B.I.G having been eligible for many years. Dave Matthews Band, despite winning the fan vote, will not see induction in 2020 (the online-centric fan vote is a contributing factor to the final induction line-up).

Nine Inch Nails’ Trent Reznor, the primary creative in the long-running industrial rock outfit whose sophisticated approach to composition attracted fans from David Bowie to David Lynch, reacted to the news of NIN entering the Rock Hall on its third nomination.

“A sincere THANK YOU goes out to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame voting body – it always feels great to be recognized for your artistic efforts and I am honoured”, he said in a statement. “Many congratulations to this year’s fellow inductees (DM finally!) – see you back in Cleveland where it all began for me!”

The “DM” refers to fellow 2020 inductees Depeche Mode. Along with NIN, Depeche tips to the Rock Hall’s increasing openness to synth-based rock acts, particularly in the alternative realm. As for Cleveland, while Reznor was born in Pennsylvania, he moved to Cleveland to kick start his music career after dropping out of college.

The Class of 2020 will become official on 2 May at the 35th Annual Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony Presented by Klipsch Audio, which for the first time ever will be broadcast live on HBO. This year’s ceremony takes place at the Public Auditorium in Cleveland. Tickets go on sale on 27 February and performers and inductees will be announced at a later date.

Listen to the Best of Nine Inch Nails on Apple Music and Spotify.

Format: Union Jack flagUK English
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Christmas 2022 Hub
Christmas 2022

Check out gift guides, playlists, videos, features and more!
uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top