Parliament Serve Up Vinyl Editions Of Classic 1970s Funk Albums

The new editions are being celebrated with Urban Legends’ unveiling of a co-branded ‘Chocolate City’-inspired recipe video.

Published on

Parliament Up For The Down Stroke

Two classic albums by funk forefathers Parliament are now available on black vinyl and as limited special vinyl editions. They are 1974’s Up For The Down Stroke and its 1975 follow-up Chocolate City, newly reissued by Urban Legends/UMe.

The new editions are being celebrated with Urban Legends’ unveiling of a co-branded Chocolate City-inspired recipe video. It’s co-hosted by the acclaimed chef Roblé Ali and cookbook author, blogger and artist Jerrelle Guy. Up For The Down Stroke is also available in a limited translucent red vinyl edition, and Chocolate City as a limited picture disc vinyl edition.

Feedfeed x Urban Legends Chocolate City Recipe Video

Click to load video

Up For The Down Stroke, the second album by George Clinton’s band of intrepid funkateers, was released in July 1974, nearly four years after Parliament’s debut set Osmium. The sophomore release marked the return to the fold after a two-years hiatus of bassist and co-writer Bootsy Collins. He co-wrote the title track and ‘I Can Move You (If You Let Me)’; released as a single, ‘Up For The Down Stroke’ hit No. 10 on the Billboard R&B chart, while the album made No. 17 on the R&B listings.

Chocolate City emerged as the group’s third album in April 1975, again in their classic line-up featuring Clinton, Collins, Bernie Worrell and Eddie Hazel. Augmenting the line-up and its sound were the Brecker Brothers, vocalist Glenn Goins and bassist Prakash John. The LP reached No. 18 R&B and gave Parliament their first showing in the top half of the all-genre Billboard top 200 chart.

Roblé Ali and Jerrelle Guy met at Feedfeed’s Brooklyn studio to film their creation of Chocolate City-inspired desserts. The video shows them exploring some of the themes in the album. They include the title concept and the African diaspora, as well as the influence the album has had on modern-day music and the pair’s own music tastes. They also explore the role of music in elevating the cooking and dining experience. Colleen Vincent of Black Food Folks and The James Beard Foundation is also part of the conversation.

Up For The Down Stroke and Chocolate City are available now. Scroll down for the full tracklistings, and buy them here.


Chocolate City [black vinyl LP; ltd. edition picture disc vinyl LP]
1. Chocolate City (Side A)
2. Ride On (Side A)
3. Together (Side A)
4. Side Effects (Side A)
5. What Comes Funky (Side A)
6. Let Me Be (Side B)
7. If It Don’t Fit (Don’t Force It) (Side B)
8. I Misjudged You (Side B)
9. Big Footin’ (Side B)

Up For The Down Stroke [black vinyl LP; ltd. edition translucent red vinyl LP]
1. Up For The Down Stroke (Side A)
2. Testify (Side A)
3. The Goose (Side A)
4. I Can Move You (If You Let Me) (Side A)
5. I Just Got Back (From The Fantasy: Ahead Of Our Time In The Four Lands Of Elliot) (Side B)
6. All Goodies Are Gone (Side B)
7. Whatever Makes Baby Feel Good (Side B)
8. Presence Of A Brain (Side B)

Format: Union Jack flagUK English
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top