‘No Hole In My Head,’ Says Tom Jones In New ‘Surrounded By Time’ Preview

The track was given its worldwide premiere on Zoe Ball’s breakfast show on BBC Radio 2.

Published on

Tom Jones Press Shot No Hole In My Head
Photo: EMI Records

Tom Jones has today shared another preview for his upcoming Surrounded By Time album in “No Hole In My Head,” with an accompanying video. The clip features the beloved entertainer and star of The Voice turning the tables on a “mysterious shadowy oppressor.” As reported, the album, produced by Ethan Johns and and Mark Woodward, will follow on April 23.

The track was given its worldwide premiere this morning (Wednesday) on Zoe Ball’s breakfast show on BBC Radio 2, and the Welsh superstar will also be appearing on Graham Norton’s primetime BBC1 show this Friday (29). “No Hole In My Head” follows the recent appearance of Jones’ version of American singer-songwriter Todd Snider’s “Talking Reality Television Blues.”

Jones, now in his seventh decade as a recording artist, says of the new track: “This song is powerful at any age. It’s about having confidence in who you are. Particularly during this time of a pervasive, boundless media that can wield so much influence, it’s more important than ever to know and be strong in your own self.”

The song was written by the late US singer, writer and political activist Malvina Reynolds, also well known for such compositions as “Little Boxes,” popularized by her friend Pete Seeger, and “What Have They Done To The Rain,” closely associated with the Searchers, Joan Baez and others.

“Everybody thinks my head’s full of nothin’,” writes Reynolds in the song. “They wanna put their own special stuff in/Fill up the space with candy wrappers/Keep out sex and revolution/But there’s no hole in my head/Too bad.”

Surrounded By Time is released on April 23, and can be pre-ordered here.

The full Surrounded By Time tracklist is:

“I Won’t Crumble With You If You Fall” (Bernice Johnson Reagon)
“The Windmills Of Your Mind” (Michel Legrand/Alan & Marilyn Bergman)
“Popstar” (Cat Stevens/Yusuf Islam)
“No Hole In My Head” (Malvina Reynolds)
“Talking Reality Television Blues” (Todd Snider)
“I Won’t Lie” (Michael Kiwanuka & Paul Butler)
“This is the Sea” (Michael Scott)
“One More Cup Of Coffee” (Bob Dylan)
“Samson And Delilah” (Tom Jones, Ethan Johns, Mark Woodward)
“Mother Earth” (Tony Joe White)
“I’m Growing Old” (Bobby Cole)
”Lazarus Man” (Terry Callier)

Listen to the best of Tom Jones on Apple Music and Spotify.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top