Vic Mensa, Flea Set To Appear On New Vans Live-Stream Channel

‘Channel 66’ broadcasts daily from New York City, Chicago, Mexico City, and Los Angeles.

Published on

Vans Channel 66
Photo: Courtesy of Vans

This week, Vans launched Channel 66, a live-stream network that offers a variety of music and lifestyle-based content – broadcasting every weekday from New York City, Chicago, Mexico City, and Los Angeles.

Described as the footwear and apparel brand’s “version of community radio meets public access TV,” Channel 66 aims to spotlight each city’s unique heritage in sub-culture through a range of curated radio shows, workshops, talks, live performances, and DJ sets. Programming, meanwhile, will revolve around music, art, action sports, and community.

Highlights include such shows as Chessboxing with GZA, hosted by the legendary Wu-Tang Clan rapper; the New Direction New York Hardcore show with Walter Schreifels (of the Gorilla Biscuits, Youth of Today, and Quicksand); Afropunk’s Channel Interference; Poetry and Lyricism by Young Chicago Authors; The Girl Ultra Show, which connects music with fashion; and the All Ages Show, spotlighting Los Angeles’s rich heritage in DIY and punk.

Among the network’s early show guests and DJs are the likes of Flea, Vic Mensa, Laura Jane Grace, Duckwrth, Japanese Breakfast, Channel Tres, Rosa Pistola, Serena Isioma, and Vans Pro skater Daniel Lutheran.

Each of the shows (including Spanish-language programming) will broadcast from one of four studio locations: The General in Brooklyn, NY; House of Vans Chicago; House of Vans Mexico City; and Vans DTLA, while content will also take viewers to local skate shops, restaurants, music venues, and independent record labels in each of the four cities.

Channel 66 officially went live on February 8 and will continue to broadcast every weekday, beginning at 11:00 am EST. Friday nights will offer marquee live performances and dance-oriented DJ sets.

Click here to tune into Channel 66.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top