Newly-Remastered Edition Of Dire Straits’ ‘Money For Nothing’ Comp Due In June

The band’s first greatest hits collection returns in digital and double vinyl formats across the UK on June 17 and in the US early in 2023.

Published on

Dire Straits 'Money For Nothing' - artwork courtesy of UMC/EMI.

On June 17, the UMC/EMI label will reissue Money For Nothing, the first Dire Straits greatest hits collection (featuring songs from the band’s first five albums), which was originally released in October 1988. Newly remastered by Bob Ludwig, Money For Nothing will be made available in digital and double vinyl formats across the UK & the rest of the world on the June 17, 2022 & early 2023 in the USA.

Dire Straits straddled the globe with their sophisticated rootsy guitar rock wedded to literate story-telling lyrics. Emerging from the club and pub circuit in 1977, Dire Straits were led by charismatic Geordie singer-songwriter, record producer and composer Mark Knopfler.

Knopfler is one of the most successful musicians the UK has ever produced and is often cited as one of the greatest guitarists of all time. Dire Straits’ sound defined the late 70s/early 80s with monster global hits such as “Sultans Of Swing”, “Romeo And Juliet”, “Money For Nothing” and “Walk Of Life”, all of which are all included on this release. Dire Straits’ 1985 album Brothers In Arms, a global No 1 and double Grammy Award winner, is one of the best selling albums of all time. After releasing their final album On Every Street in ’91, Knopfler set off on a new path as a solo artist.

Dire Straits - Money For Nothing (TV Edit)

Click to load video

Fully remastered by Bob Ludwig, and cut by Bernie Grundman, the Money For Nothing double vinyl reissue includes “Telegraph Road (Live Remix)” which was previously only available on the original CD format, and a previously unreleased alternative live version of “Portobello Belle (Live)”.

The album is cut over four sides for the first time and is pressed on 180 gram vinyl with original artwork.

Money For Nothing includes the following tracks:

“Sultans Of Swing”
“Down To The Waterline”
“Portobello Belle – live” (alternative version) – previously unreleased version
“Twisting By The Pool” (Remix)
“Tunnel Of Love”
“Romeo And Juliet”
“Where Do You Think You’re Going?”
“Walk Of Life”
“Private Investigations”
“Telegraph Road (Live Remix)” – previously unreleased on vinyl
“Money For Nothing” (Single Edit)
“Brothers In Arms” (Edit).

Pre-order Money For Nothing.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top