ADVERTISEMENT

Streaming Release Of The Beatles’ Rooftop Performance Leads Anniversary Events

The stream is part of a series of special releases, events, and announcements to mark the 53rd anniversary of the famous performance.

Published on

Beatles artwork: ©Apple Corps Ltd
Beatles artwork: ©Apple Corps Ltd

The complete audio for The Beatles’ legendary performance on the roof of the Apple Corps building in London will be released by Apple Corps Ltd./Capitol/UMe for global streaming for the first time tonight, US time, at 9pm PST/12am EST (5am tomorrow, Friday, GMT).

The Beatles: Get Back – The Rooftop Performance is part of a series of special releases, events and announcements to mark the 53rd anniversary of the group’s famous final live performance on January 30, 1969. The audio has been mixed in stereo and Dolby Atmos by Giles Martin and Sam Okell.

The performance has won renewed acclaim, and been discovered by another generation of Beatles fans, following the fall release of the remixed and expanded Let It Be Special Edition by Apple Corps Ltd./Capitol/UMe, Peter Jackson’s The Beatles: Get Back docuseries (Disney/Apple Corps Ltd./WingNut), and the hardcover book also titled The Beatles: Get Back (Apple Corps Ltd./Callaway).

The raw sources that were explored for those new projects revealed a more joyous, benevolent spirit to the sessions than was conveyed in 1970’s 80-minute Let It Be film, and shone a new and warmer light on the Let It Be album of that year.

Hall of Fame’s immersive exhibit

The streaming release announcement is accompanied by news that the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame will launch a groundbreaking featured exhibit, The Beatles: Get Back to Let It Be, on March 18. Running until March 2023, the multimedia, immersive complement to the docuseries will invite fans to step into the group’s January 1969 rehearsals and sessions, and to witness their final rooftop performance, surrounded by large-scale projections and superior sound.

The exhibit will feature original instruments, clothing, handwritten lyrics, and other unique items, including several on loan directly from Beatles principals. Announcements will follow about special events to be hosted by the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame during the exhibit’s run, including interviews, film screenings, panels, and more.

Tomorrow (28), multi-million-selling singer-songwriter Norah Jones will release two rooftop tribute performance videos of Beatles songs from the Let It Be album. “I’ve Got A Feeling” and “Let It Be,” recently filmed with her band on the rooftop of New York’s Empire State Building. will debut on Jones’ official YouTube channel tomorrow at 9am PST/12pm EST/5pm GMT.

Tomorrow at 11am EST, SiriusXM’s The Beatles Channel will debut The Rooftop Concert Special, presenting the entire rooftop performance with commentary by Beatles historian, author, and radio producer Kevin Howlett. The special will re-air throughout the weekend on The Beatles Channel and will also be available to stream on the SXM App.

On Saturday (29), The Beatles LOVE by Cirque du Soleil will unveil a rooftop performance tribute video for “Get Back (LOVE Version),” featuring cast members from the acclaimed stage production, now in its 15th hit year at The Mirage Las Vegas. It will debut on Cirque du Soleil’s YouTube Channel at 6am PST/9am EST/2pm GMT. A behind-the-scenes “making of” video for the performance will debut an hour later on that channel.

Anniversary screening event

On Sunday (30), the exact 53rd anniversary of the rooftop performance will be celebrated by Disney/Apple Corps Ltd./WingNut’s special screening event exclusively at IMAX theaters in the US and UK of The Beatles: Get Back –The Rooftop Concert. The 60-minute feature presents the complete performance following a brief introduction.

The screenings will begin with an exclusive filmmaker Q&A at 12pm PST/3pm EST/8pm GMT, with the concert (featured in full for the first time in Jackson’s docuseries) optimized for IMAX screens, digitally remastered into the image and sound quality of the IMAX Experience with proprietary IMAX DMR (Digital Remastering) technology. Tickets for the Exclusive IMAX Event Screening and Filmmaker Q&A are on sale at tickets.imax.com.

Buy or stream The Beatles’ Let It Be Special Edition packages.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top