Rock Trailblazers Traffic Saluted With New 6LP Box Set

The collection features all of the British band’s groundbreaking work between 1967 and 1974.

Published on

Traffic The Studio Albums 1967-74 packshot

A 6LP vinyl box set containing all of the 1960s and ’70s albums by seminal rock trailblazers Traffic will be released by Island/UMC on 17 May. The Studio Albums 1967-1974 is the first-ever vinyl box set celebrating their work, and includes original artwork plus a rare facsimile promo poster for each disc.

The collection begins with Mr. Fantasy, the band’s debut set released in December 1967 in the wake of their dynamic arrival with three top ten UK hit singles, ‘Paper Sun,’ ‘Hole In My Shoe’ and ‘Here We Go Round The Mulberry Bush.’ None of these were included on the LP, which appeared in America as Heaven Is In Your Mind, but it did feature Traffic’s next 45, ‘No Face, No Name, No Number.’

Their self-titled sophomore record followed in October 1968, when Dave Mason had returned to the fold following his departure at the beginning of that year. He wrote or co-wrote half of its ten songs including the celebrated ‘Feelin’ Alright?’; Steve Winwood, Jim Capaldi and Chris Wood also all wrote for the LP, which notably featured Winwood and Capaldi’s ‘Forty Thousand Headmen.’

John Barleycorn Must Die TrafficJuly 1970’s John Barleycorn Must Die was a bold shift to a more overtly folk-influenced sound, much admired in particular for its near title track ‘John Barleycorn (Must Die)’ as well as ‘Glad’ and ‘Empty Pages.’ Late 1971 brought the progressive rock landmark The Low Spark Of High Heeled Boys, which eventually became a platinum-certified disc in America and saw Traffic become a favourite of FM radio there.

Shoot Out At The Fantasy Factory followed it into the US top ten in 1973, solely produced like its predecesor by Winwood. Traffic completed their initial run of album releases with 1974’s When The Eagle Flies, produced this time by Island boss Chris Blackwell and another top ten US success.

The band went on to pursue solo endeavours, with Winwood and Capaldi reuniting once more under the Traffic name in the 1990s. The Studio Albums 1967-1974 serves as a reminder of their singular eclecticism and fearless invention.

The Studio Albums 1967-1974 is released on 17 May. Scroll down for the full tracklisting, and pre-order it here.


Mr Fantasy LP

Side A
1. Heaven Is In Your Mind
2. Berkshire Poppies
3. House For Everyone
4. No Face, No Name, No Number
5. Dear Mr. Fantasy

Side B
1. Dealer
2. Utterly Simple
3. Coloured Rain
4. Hope I Never Find Me There
5. Giving To You

Traffic LP

Side A
1. You Can All Join In
2. Pearly Queen
3. Don’t Be Sad
4. Who Knows What Tomorrow May Bring
5. Feelin’ Alright?

Side B
1. Vagabond Virgin
2. Forty Thousand Headmen
3. Cryin’ To Be Heard
4. No Time To Live
5. Means To An End

John Barleycorn Must Die LP

Side A
1. Glad
2. Freedom Rider
3. Empty Pages

Side B
1. Stranger To Himself
2. John Barleycorn
3. Every Mother’s Son

Shoot Out At The Fantasy Factory LP

Side A
1. Shoot Out At The Fantasy Factory
2. Roll Right Stones

Side B
1. Evening Blue
2. Tragic Magic
3. (Sometimes I Feel So) Uninspired

The Low Spark Of High Heeled Boys LP

Side A
1. Hidden Treasure
2. The Low Spark Of High Heeled Boys
3. Rock ‘n’ Roll Stew

Side B
1. Many A Mile To Freedom
2. Light Up Or Leave Me Alone
3. Rainmaker

When The Eagle Flies LP

Side A
1. Something New
2. Dream Gerrard
3. Graveyard People

Side B
1. Walking In The Wind
2. Memories Of A Rock N’ Rolla
3. Love
4. When The Eagle Flies

Explore our Traffic Artist Page.

Format: Union Jack flagUK English


  1. Nate

    April 5, 2019 at 6:52 pm

    What’s the sources for the vinyl? It says from original master tapes in some postings but doesn’t specify if The vinyl was made from high-res digital transfers or all analog sources. This would be helpful in making a purchasing decision.

  2. Joe

    April 5, 2019 at 9:06 pm

    Where’s Last Exit?

  3. Ian

    April 6, 2019 at 9:58 am

    Erm, last exit. Where is it? Half of it was a studio album.

    • Fred De Sena

      April 13, 2019 at 3:45 pm

      Exactly huge oversite!!!

    • Fred De Sena

      April 13, 2019 at 3:46 pm

      Exactly! Major Fux Pas!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

uDiscover Music - Back To Top
uDiscover Music - Back To Top